All Roads Don’t Lead to Heaven

A few months ago, I traveled to Japan on a work trip.  While there was plenty of work to do, there was also time to sightsee.  I don’t know why I was surprised by the amount of Buddhist temples, but I was.  Everywhere we went, we were able to see active temples, historic temples, small temples, and large temples.  We even saw a wedding occurring on the temple grounds, as well as dozens of influencer photo shoots happening around us. 

Two weeks later, I traveled to Salt Lake City, UT for work, where I saw multiple Latter Day Saint temples and churches.  I don’t know why I was surprised at the overt amount of LDS imagery around Utah, but I was.  Everywhere we went, there seemed to be some kind of nod to Mormon history. 

The temples in Japan and Utah are beautiful.  I appreciate the history, architecture, gardening, and culture of both locations.    However, it got me thinking that beautiful religious buildings are not going to get people into heaven.  As a result of these two trips, I’ve been thinking a lot about how our society accepts the misconception that “there is more than one way to heaven” or “that there are multiple roads to get to God.”

For a moment, indulge me.  I’m a Christian.  I believe Jesus died on the cross for my sins and that through accepting His gift of grace, acknowledging my sin, and asking for forgiveness, I have salvation.  I believe that Jesus is the only way to get to heaven. 

I also acknowledge multiple friends, family, and acquaintances who do not believe this same thought.  They subscribe to the belief that being a good person will get you into heaven or that there are multiple ways/roads to God or heaven.  I respect these people…I love them…and I understand they have a right to believe what they believe.

But I don’t believe they are correct.

Scripture tells us that it is a misconception…a falsehood…a lie that there is more than one way to heaven.

Only those who know Jesus will have eternal life

1 John 11-12 (NASB) states, “And the testimony is this, that God has given us eternal life, and this life is in His Son. The one who has the Son has the life; the one who does not have the Son of God does not have the life.”

No one comes to the Father but through Jesus

John 14:6 (NASB) says, “Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father except through Me.’”

Jesus will be responsible for separating everyone into two groups: one destined for heaven and one for hell.

Matthew 25:41-46 (NASB) tells us, “But when the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the angels with Him, then He will sit on His glorious throne. And all the nations will be gathered before Him; and He will separate them from one another, just as the shepherd separates the sheep from the goats; and He will put the sheep on His right, but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on His right, ‘Come, you who are blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry, and you gave Me something to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave Me something to drink; I was a stranger, and you invited Me in; naked, and you clothed Me; I was sick, and you visited Me; I was in prison, and you came to Me.’ Then the righteous will answer Him, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry, and feed You, or thirsty, and give You something to drink? And when did we see You as a stranger, and invite You in, or naked, and clothe You? And when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it for one of the least of these brothers or sisters of Mine, you did it for Me.’ Then He will also say to those on His left, ‘Depart from Me, you accursed people, into the eternal fire which has been prepared for the devil and his angels; or I was hungry, and you gave Me nothing to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave Me nothing to drink; I was a stranger, and you did not invite Me in; naked, and you did not clothe Me; sick, and in prison, and you did not visit Me.’ Then they themselves also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry, or thirsty, or as a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not take care of You?’ Then He will answer them, ‘Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did not do it for one of the least of these, you did not do it for Me, either.’ These will go away into eternal punishment, but the righteous into eternal life.”

If I truly love those around me, then it is my responsibility as a Christian to have the discussion that not all roads lead to God…and not all roads lead to heaven. 

As the church body, we are responsible for acknowledging our role in sharing the Gospel; the one true road to heaven. 

~Emily

One thought on “All Roads Don’t Lead to Heaven

  1. This is a difficult message to speak to a world of so many different beliefs. I applaud your courage, and add this – only through obedience in putting on the blood of Christ in baptism can we accept the loving grace of God. How simply beautiful to trust Him.

    Like

Leave a comment